Home

We have entirely too much freedom.

This is going to be one of those kind of posts. If you’re not with me, read something else.

Why is religion declining in the U.S.? Because it holds ideas as good or bad. It identifies actions as good or bad. It implores us to do things that are more good than bad. Who has time for that shit?

Why do Americans have trouble with Islam? Because it is a religion about submission. (Islam means “to submit”) It says there is something beyond ourselves that is more important, and we should listen to that. That sounds wrong to many people. Consider Ramadan, 30 days of fasting. It’s a spiritual exercise to get closer to God and to be one with other Muslims doing the same thing around the world. Imagine how that plays to the average American. (“I get this whole closer-to-God thing, but I’m hungry right now”.)

I am not to be trusted with my own mind at times. I can justify anything; I can give you a reason. There’s always a reason. There’s a reason why I lied to my wife. There’s a reason why I didn’t spend time with the kids today. There’s a reason why I ate two desserts instead of one. There’s a reason why I didn’t floss. There’s a reason why I was half-assed at work. There’s a reason why I didn’t go for my dreams.

Sometimes, you need to listen to the writing of others, listen to the wisdom of the elders, shut your mind down and do what you’re told or what you read.

Leave a Reply

